Universities and colleges which today has reached a steady state and complete the form as a university, with the pillars of academic freedom and freedom of the pulpit of academic, scientific and management autonomy, already has a very long history. Embryo has emerged in Europe since about 400 years BC, started by the philosopher Plato with Academosnya Park in the days of ancient Greece. So have more than 2000 years.
In Indonesia, this history has not been too long. When the University of Gajah Mada (UGM, standing on December 19, 1949) in Yogyakarta and Universitas Indonesia (UI, stood February 2, 1950) in Jakarta is considered as the oldest college, then this record was only tens of years, although the embryo UI has been around since STOVIA ( School Tot Opleiding van Inlandsche Artsen) in Batavia in the 1900s.
Year 1870, the Dutch government imposed the so-called Ethical Policy in the Netherlands Indies, which is a change in the Dutch attitude towards its colonies because they felt indebted to the earth's son who has led the Netherlands to develop and become prosperous. This is driven by the liberal idea that struck Europe with the motto liberty, egality, and fraternity are based on humanism.
Educatie program, irigatie, and emigratie intended to increase the participation of the son of the earth (more colonies producing / productive) encourage the emergence of schools that originally only to learn to read, write and calculate. To deal with its modern factories and plantations, the Netherlands felt the need to open a high school that became the forerunner to the development of the faculties in Jakarta.
Starting from the field of health, was established in 1902 STOVIA (School Tot Opleiding van Inlandsche Artsen) which later became NIAS (Nerderlandsch Indische Artsen School) in 1913 and the GHS (Geneeskundige Hoge School) as the embryo of medical school. Then followed by the establishment Rechts School in 1922 and became Rechthoogen School in 1924 as an embryo Faculty of Law University of Indonesia. In Jakarta in 1940 founded Faculteit de Letterenen Wijsbegeste which later became the Faculty of Literature and Philosophy, University of Indonesia.
In Bandung in 1920 founded the Technische Hoge School (THS), which was also used in public universities. Meanwhile in Bogor Landsbouwkundige Faculteit also established in 1941 is now called the Institut Pertanian Bogor (IPB).
Two days after the proclamation, dated August 19, 1945, the Indonesian government established the Institute for Higher Education of Indonesia and then encourage the establishment of the University of Indonesia which is basically a combination of faculties that have been there before.
Meanwhile in the struggle against the Dutch who wanted to return to colonize Indonesia, the government of Indonesia in Yogyakarta in cooperation with Yayasan Gajah Mada University Hall on December 19, 1949 also founded the University of Gajah Mada. In the beginning, the Faculty of Law and Literature held at the show and then gradually move to the Wells campus Bulak.
In other words, the founding capital of a university or college in Indonesia is the University of Indonesia in Jakarta and University of Gajah Mada University in Yogyakarta. Then from the two universities was developed into five with the presence of Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB-1959), Institut Pertanian Bogor (IPB-1963), and the University of Airlangga (Airlangga-1954), each of which stands alone.
For private universities, Universitas Islam Indonesia (UII) in Yogyakarta which was established in 1948 is the first private university and the oldest in Indonesia.


Post a Comment