Glory of Majapahit

Hayam Wuruk, also known as Rajasanagara, ruled Majapahit in 1350 until 1389. At the time Majapahit reached the peak of its power with the help mahapatihnya, Gajah Mada. Under the command of Gajah Mada University (1313-1364), Majapahit control more territory. In 1377, several years after the death of Gajah Mada, Majapahit attack by sea to Palembang, causing the collapse of the remnants of Sriwijaya.

According Nagarakertagama stanza XIII-XV, the Majapahit kingdom covering Sumatra, Malay Peninsula, Borneo, Sulawesi, Nusa Tenggara islands, Maluku, Papua, and some islands of the Philippines [13]. However, natural and economic constraints showed that the areas of power does not seem to be under centralized power of Majapahit, but connected to one another by a trade that might be monopolized by the king. Majapahit also has a relationship with Campa, Cambodia, Siam, southern Burma, and Vietnam, and even send His emissary ambassador to China.


Post a Comment