Pura in Bali

Unlike temples in Java, temple, or temple in Bali called, is part of community life that the majority of Balinese are Hindu. Pura in Bali is a Hindu shrine. Every Hindu family has a family temple for the worship of ancestors Hyang Widhi and family, so the temples on the island of Bali in number in the thousands.

Goda Pura village. Each village generally has three main temples called Pura Pura Three or Tri Goda Goda (tri = three), ie pretending shrines Sang Hyang Widi Wasa in three manifestations of His power: Pura Desa for the worship of Brahma (the Creator), Puseh temple for the worship of Vishnu (The Preserver), and Pura Dalem to worship Lord Shiva (The Destruction). Pura Bale Agung Village is also called, because the temples are usually located in the center of the village was also used as a place to conduct a village meeting.

Goda Pura Jagat. Pura Goda is a public place of worship Ida Sang Hyang Widi Wasa in his various manifestations and also where the spirits of the ancestral worship. Included in kaetgori Goda Jagat Pura, among them, is the Pura Sad Goda (sad = six), the temples are located in six major locations in the P. Goda Bali. Sad Pura Khayangan comprising: Luhur Pura Uluwatu, Pura Zingiber zerumbet, Pura Goa Lawah, Watukaru Pura, Pura and Pura Besakih Canning Hill. Sad Pura Kahyangan joints is believed to be the spiritual center of Bali Island and is a religious activity.

In addition Sad Pura Goda, who fall into that category is the Pura Pura Jagat Dhang Goda Goda, namely the temple which was built by the spiritual leaders in the past. Most Pura Dhang Goda has strong links to Dhang Nirartha Hyang, a pedanda (Hindu priest) of the Majapahit Kingdom. In the reign of Dalem Waturenggong, around the year 1411 Saka (1489 AD), Dhang Hyang Nirartha which is also known as Dhang Hyang Dwijendra, entered Yatra (pilgrimage) around Bali, Nusa Penida and Lombok. In several places to be visited Dhang Hyang Nirartha built several temples, such as Pura Uluwatu, Pura Siwi hair, etc.

Pura Luhur. Almost every district in Bali has the Pura Luhur (sublime = high), ie pretending that his birthday is celebrated by people in a way that involves piodalan hold thousands of people. Pura Tanah Lot, Goa Lawah, and Pura Uluwatu temple is also included in the category of the sublime.
Pura Kawitan. This temple is a place of worship for the descendants of a family group or a specific character. Included in this category are: Sanggah-Pemerajan, Pratiwi, Paibon, Panti, Dadia or Dalem Dadia, Upgrading Dadia, and Pedharman. Surely history kawitan temple can not be separated from the history of the kingdoms in Bali.

Based on the inscriptions have been discovered, it can be said that history begins in Bali which was recorded the 8th century AD. Among the kings of Bali, which left many written statement that also mention the picture of the composition of government at the time were Udayana, Jayapangus, Jayasakti, and Children Wungsu. In Blanjong Inscription (913 AD) made during the reign of Sri Kesari Warmadewa used the word 'Walidwipa' which refers to an area of government in Bali.

In 1343, the kingdom of Majapahit to Bali on an expedition, led by Commander mahapati Gajah Mada and Arya Damar. At that time ruled by the kingdom of Bali, with its king Astasura Bedahulu Ratna Bumi Banten and patih Kebo Iwa. Bali successfully conquered by the Majapahit and since then Bali is part of the Majapahit Kingdom. As head of government in P. Bali Majapahit King Sri Krishna lifted Kepakisan (1350-1380 AD) located in the village near the town of Gianyar Samprangan. Government Center and then transferred to the palace in Gelgel Suwecapura, Klungkung.

During the heyday of Majapahit, Kingdom Gelgel kings ruled by the descendants of Sri Krishna Kepakisan. When experiencing the collapse of the Majapahit Kingdom Gelgel which is no longer a country still ruled by descendants of colonial Sri Krishna Kepakisan. One King Gelgel, Dalem Waturenggong (1460-1550 AD), is very famous for during his reign P. Experiencing the golden age of Bali. Dalem Waturenggong Gelgel expand the Kingdom's territory into parts of East Java, Lombok and Sumbawa.

Gelgel golden era began to fade in the reign of Dalem Bekung (1550 - 1580 AD), the eldest son of Dalem Waturenggong. During the reign of Dalem At Made (1605-1651 AD), Gelgel even lost territory and Bima Blambangan (year 1633 CE) and Lombok (1640 AD). In the year 1651, an uprising led by Gusti Agung Maruti. During the reign held by Gusti Agung Maruti, the dependencies Gelgel, such as Badung, Bangli, Buleleng, Gianyar, Jembrana, Karangsem, Mengwi and Tabanan Gelgel escape from power and form a government alone.

In 1686 the son of Dalem In Made named Dewa Agung Jambe retake power from the hands of the rebels and the central government moved to the palace in Klungkung Samarapura, but the former subordinate kingdoms Gelgel retain its independence. Klungkung king, Dewa Agung, is positioned as a spiritual leader with a degree susuhunan Bali and Lombok.

Jembrana in the year 1808 were conquered by the King of Buleleng. In 1818, Jembrana successfully recaptured by the former King of Jembrana, but in 1821 the kingdom was again conquered by the King of Buleleng. Until the late 18th century, Bali was split into eight kingdoms, namely: Badung, Bangli, Buleleng, Gianyar, Karangsem, Klungkung, and Tabanan Mengwi. These small kingdoms which underlies the distribution of areas of government as the districts in Bali now.

Pura Swagina. This temple is a place of worship for community groups with a particular profession or livelihood. For example, Pura is pretending to throw the vendors, Pura Subak for farmer groups, etc..


Post a Comment