Proclamation of Independence

Hearing the news that Japan no longer has the power to make decisions like that on August 16, Sukarno reads the "Proclamation" on the next day. The news of the proclamation spread via radio and leaflets while the Indonesian military forces during wartime, Motherland Defenders Forces (PETA), the youth, and others immediately set out to maintain the residence of Sukarno.

On August 18, 1945 Preparatory Committee for Indonesian Independence (PPKI) inaugurated as President Sukarno and Mohammad Hatta as Vice President by the Constitution designed to use several days earlier. Then formed the Central Indonesian National Committee (KNIP), as a provisional parliament until elections can be held. This group declared a new government on August 31 and want the Republic of Indonesia, which consists of 8 provinces: Sumatra, Borneo (excluding the territory of Sabah, Sarawak and Brunei), West Java, Central Java, East Java, Sulawesi, Maluku (including Papua) and East Nusa Southeast.


Post a Comment